Skip to content

The Seal Upon My Arm

2010/09/26

So I told you guys I’ve been considering a tattoo for a long time now. I’ve been able to spend some time brainstorming and I have a design that I would like to share. It has gotten some mixed response, but for the most part, I like it and that’s what matters right? right?

The idea of my tattoo comes from the following scripture…

Song of Solomon 8:6-7
Set me as a seal upon thine heart, as a seal upon thine arm:
for love is strong as death; jealousy is cruel as the grave:
the coals thereof are coals of fire, which hath a most vehement flame.
Many waters cannot quench love, neither can the floods drown it: if a man
would give all the substance of his house for love, it would utterly be condemned.

Ephesians 2:4-5
But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.

The actual design is actually a coat of arms. On the left is a lion with a crown and on the right is a lamb with a crown. The idea that I’m placing a mark on myself permanently represents a marriage seal that will be with me always.

Ideally, this design will be roughly 2in wide and tattooed on my inner bicep, closer towards my elbow. ENOUGH WORDS! what do you think???

David L
http://davidluonline.com

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    2010/09/26 10:48 pm

    Hmm…
    Well I do love tattoos, well in moderation….
    But…I think the design is a little too complex for that area. For that tattoo in particular, if you are super set on that design, I think it would be good placed on your back…like top left.
    But if you really want it on your arm, you should work out and make sure your arms get more muscular. You want to have a nice sculpted arm to place a tattoo on.

    Good luck with the tattoo hunt! It took me forever to pick mine out!

  2. 2010/09/26 11:17 pm

    Hey Jessica!…blahhhh i have a feeling you’re right…about the complexity..not about how muscular my arm is though :p jkayy! thanks for your input! what did you get??? and where?

    • Jessica permalink
      2010/09/26 11:31 pm

      Yea I’ve never seen your arm in person lol, but I just hate it when shrimpy guys get tattoos on their arms lol

      I have a koi tattoo on top of my right foot

      • Jessica permalink
        2010/09/26 11:32 pm

        oh not saying you’re shrimpy! I just saw you like twice…oh gosh im digging a hole here =_=””

  3. Kristen permalink
    2010/09/28 6:00 pm

    hey david! i’m just gonna drop a line since i discovered your blog hehe…
    i really like the thought behind the tattoo! 🙂

  4. 2012/07/08 4:07 am

    Hey there, I just hopped over to your web page via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically browse, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thank you for creating something worthy of reading through.

  5. 2012/07/09 11:15 pm

    Jesus Christ there is lots of spammy comments on this webpage. Have you at any time thought about attempting to eliminate them or putting in a plugin?

  6. 2012/07/10 2:29 pm

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your site? I am looking for a great web host and your website appears to be extremely fast and up all the time

  7. 2012/07/11 11:34 am

    Please email me with a few pointers about how you made your blog look this awesome, I would be thankful!

  8. 2012/07/11 9:08 pm

    Re: The person who made the comment that this was a good website actually needs to get their brain reviewed.

  9. 2012/07/12 9:34 pm

    Heya, I just hopped over to your webpage thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating something worth browsing.

  10. 2012/07/13 3:25 am

    It seems to me that this site doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the exact same issue? I like this webpage and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

  11. 2012/07/13 3:42 am

    Is it fine to insert part of this in my personal web site if I post a reference to this webpage?

  12. 2012/07/13 3:50 am

    Jesus Christ theres a great deal of spammy feedback on this website. Have you at any time believed about trying to get rid of them or putting in a tool?

  13. 2012/07/13 10:29 pm

    Even though I really like this post, I think there was an spelling error near towards the end with the 3rd sentence.

  14. 2012/07/14 1:22 am

    Is it okay to put part of this on my website if I post a reference point to this web-site?

  15. 2012/07/14 3:02 am

    Re: Whomever produced the statement that this was a good internet site genuinely needs to possess their head inspected.

  16. 2012/07/14 8:25 am

    Can you message me with a few tips on how you made this website look this cool , I would be thankful.

  17. 2012/07/14 9:18 pm

    After I start your Rss feed it appears to be a lot of nonsense, is the problem on my side?

  18. 2012/07/14 9:23 pm

    Hello, I just hopped over to your website thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing worth reading through.

  19. 2012/07/15 9:25 pm

    Odd , this post shows up with a dark color to it, what color is the primary color on your web site?

  20. 2012/07/16 11:55 am

    This blog site is really cool. How did you make it !?

  21. 2012/07/16 3:31 pm

    I was basically curious about if you ever considered changing the layout of your blog? It is very well written; I enjoy what you have got to say. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of content so people could connect to it better. Youve got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  22. 2012/07/16 10:12 pm

    I love your wordpress theme, where did you get a hold of it?

Leave a Reply

